Skip to main content - access key m.
Skip to main navigation - access key n.

About PEC

The Physical Electronics Conference has been held on university campuses and at research labs around North America for more than 70 years. This topical conference provides an annual forum for the dissemination and discussion of new research results in the physics and chemistry of surfaces and interfaces. The conference emphasizes fundamental science in materials systems, including metals, semiconductors, insulators and biomaterials.

Each year physicists and chemists with interests in these fields come together to solicit papers on experimental and theoretical research performed at exposed (gas-solid), buried (liquid-solid and solid-solid) and hybrid (e.g., semiconductor-biomaterial) interfaces. Representative topics include electronic, chemical, magnetic and structural properties of interfaces; kinetics and dynamics of physical and chemical transformations at surfaces; formation, modeling and properties of nanoscale-mesoscale surface architectures; correlated electron effects at surfaces; biological interactions with surfaces; mechanisms of surface and interface growth and evolution; and energy and electron transfer processes across materials interfaces. Properties of structurally and chemically tailored surfaces are of interest, as are new methods of measuring these properties and the demonstration of new applications.

Previous PEC Hosts

1966 Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1989 University of Washington
1967 Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1990 National Institute of Standards
1968 University of Minnesota 1991 Rutgers University
1969 Yale University 1992 University of California-Irvine
1970 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 1993 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
1971 National Bureau of Standards 1994 University of Tennessee
1972 Sandia Laboratories 1995 Arizona State University
1973 University of California-Berkeley 1996 Boston University
1974 Bell Laboratories 1997 University of Oregon
1975 Penn State University 1998 Penn State University
1976 University of Wisconsin-Madison 1999 University of California, Berkeley
1977 Stanford University 2000 Louisiana State University
1978 Oak Ridge National Laboratory 2001 Sandia National Laboratories
1979 University of Maryland 2002 Georgia Tech
1980 Cornell University 2003 Cornell University
1981 Montana State University 2004 University of California, Davis
1982 Georgia Institute of Technology 2005 University of Wisconsin-Madison
1983 Sandia National Laboratories 2006 Princeton University
1984 Princeton University 2007 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1985 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2008 University of California, Riverside
1986 University of Texas at Austin 2009 Rutgers University
1987 IBM Almaden Research 2010 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1988 Brookhaven National Laboratory 2011 University at Albany